Wool

I went Stylecraft crazy on Wool warehouse  recently, with the intention of getting all the colours I need for my crochet blanket. Look at all the colours!

dinasour

Not quite as bright as they are in real life – that red is blinding! It’s far brighter than I expected, so I may have to purchase an alternative shade later down the line. And the light green is a bit, er, I don’t know, the type of shade of wool which made me think I hated crochet when I was younger. It’s almost apple green, but too light. I’m sure that next to the right shade of some other colour it will be fine.

Here’s a shot of some granny squares I’ve made, some more successful than others. Some I love, others are the most hideous things I’ve ever created (again, I don’t think the photo captures the true ugly. I’m looking at the yellow bordered one)!:

granny squares multi

The purple flower ones at the bottom might make it into a cushion cover, but now I’m not so sure how much I like them. But I really like the top left flower square, and think I will definitely make more of those later on.

In the mean time, I’m going to keep making the regular squares in different colours and have a lovely mix and match granny square blanket, with a solid coloured border (probably purple).

And in final woolly news, I’ve started making the knitted dinosaur! So far, I’ve done this tiny amount:

dino pink

You can see all the scribbles of a mad women from when I tried to make it before, but thought I would reduce the size of it. I failed. Turns out it’s much easier to knit something if you just follow the pattern!

2 thoughts on “Wool

Leave a Reply

