I has been crafting

But I can’t put up any photographic evidence yet…

I am working on a ‘Hen do’ book for a bride to be! It’s a lot of fun, but also a lot of pressure as I am collating photo’s and notes which capture her nearest and dearest’s memories (oops, almost write ‘mammaries’ – although there are a few of them evidenced in photographs) of her. The thing I’m really finding difficult is my section – how do I sum up a friendship of over 10 years in 3 pages? I could take the easy road and just give her my own ‘book of joy’ which captures our amazing adventures of our  teens, but that would be cheating, and we’ve experienced a whole lot of ups and downs since then! 

However, I fear that I am putting too much pressure on myself and that she will love it because I will have the power of surprise on my side, and if I give it to her on her wedding day (morning) she’ll be so giddy with excitement she won’t notice that I dropped the prit stick on the front cover by accident late one night in a crafting frenzy. All being well, this little slip will conjure memories of our A Level art and all of the hilarity that ensued during those hideous years…

The title of this marvelous book will be entitled ‘Flower to flower’. The reason being, when we went to pick her wedding dress (I feel to special to have been invited along, even though it was only because I happened to be working nearby, but still, what a lovely experience!) she pretended to be holding a bouquet of flowers while wearing said dress, as a way of making herself look more bride like than she already did. However, she was holding the flowers too high up, in a way that is unflattering for the arms and looks a bit awkward (but when you’re holding a bunch of flowers feels quite normal). The lovely bride shop lady re-positioned her arms in a far more relaxed and flattering position, and told her that the best way to remember how to hold the bouquet is to keep it over your lady bits, or, if you want a more lady like way to describe it,  ‘flower to flower’. We thought this was hilarious, and we will ALWAYS remember how to hold a bouquet appropriately in future. How on earth has this amazing piece of wisdom never appeared on any wedding blog I’ve come across? 

As one of he bridesmaids, I really hope that I manage to reign in the giggles on the day as I am pretty sure that this will pop into my mind as soon as I see the bride walking down that aisle!

Leave a Reply

